About Us

Home → About Us

Osteoarthritis is a major public health problem in the country. It is not a killer but is one of the most common cause of disability. It is a major cause of DALY’s lost. In collaboration with the Indian college of Physicians and Indian Rheumatology Association, a society has been created namely Society for Osteoarthritis Research (SOAR). An expert group of doctors working and interested in the field of osteoarthritis including Rheumatologists, Orthopedic surgeons and basic scientists are part of this group. The first meeting of this group was held at Lucknow in November 2016 and the main aim is of this society is to work towards making recommendations for Osteoarthritis in Indian context. The society has been registered in 2017 under the Indian Societies Registration Act 21, of 1860.6th November has been declared Osteoarthritis Day.

  1. Name of the Society: “Society for Osteoarthritis Research”. Acronym: “SOAR”
  2. Registration number - 2556
  3. Address of the Society:

    Dr Pooja Dhaon,
    4, Gokhake Marg,
    Lucknow – 226001
    Phone no. – 91- 9307096252

    Email - soarlko@gmail.com

  4. Operating Area of the Society:

    The society shall operate in the whole of India.

  5. Aims and Objects:

    1. To establish a society in India, that will use a multidisciplinary approach and bring together researchers to address the issues associated with all aspects of Osteoarthritis.
    2. To disseminate knowledge about Osteoarthritis to the medical community by means of lectures, seminars, and publications, and to the general public by the medium of magazine articles, public lectures and distribution of literature.
    3. To conduct and promote research on Osteoarthritis using epidemiological, clinical and basic science approaches.
    4. To help establish centres for the diagnosis and treatment of Osteoarthritis.
    5. To advise governmental and non-governmental agencies in matters of public health as they relate to Osteoarthritis.
    6. Training of physicians interested in Osteoarthritis all over the country.

Team Soar

  • Prof. Siddharth K Das

  • Dr. Arvind Chopra
    Sr. Vice President Rheumatology

  • Dr R.N. Srivastava
    Sr. Vice President Orthopedics

  • Dr Ragini Srivastava
    Vice President Basic Science

  • Dr Pooja Dhaon

  • Dr Shweta Agarwal

  • Dr Kaushik Bhojani
    Joint Secretary

  • Dr Aarti Sharma
    Executive Members

  • Dr Naibedya Chattopadhyay
    Executive Members

  • Dr D.S. Katti
    Executive Members

  • Dr K. Mahendranath
    Executive Members
  • Dr B.J. Dharmanand
    Dr B.J. Dharmanand.

  • Dr Puneet Kumar
    Executive Members

  • Dr Urmila Dhakad
    Executive Members

  • Dr P.D Rath
    Executive Members

  • Dr Shabbir Chikani
    Executive Members

  • Dr Ved Chaturvedi
    Executive Members
  • Dr. Rathin Haldar
    Executive Members

  • Dr V. Krishnamurthy
    Executive Members

  • Dr Kiran Seth
    Executive Members
  • Dr. Pradhyut Sinhamahapatra
    Executive Members