Celebrating Rheumatology

Home → Celebrating Rheumatology

A symposium “Celebrating Rheumatology” was organized by Department of Rheumatology in collaboration with the Society for Osteoarthritis Research from 9th to 11th May 2019,  at, at the convention centre of King George’s Medical University, Lucknow. The symposium was a tribute to the founder Head of Department and the President of the society, Prof. Siddharth Das, who after serving Rheumatology for 32 years attained superannuation. Dr Puneet Kumar was the Organizing Secretary and Dr Urmila Dhakad was the Scientific Chairperson of the symposium. The symposium had  eminent Rheumatologists of the country as speakers namely Dr A.N. Malaviya, Dr Ashok Kumar, Dr Ved Chaturvedi, Dr V. R. Joshi, Dr Sukumar Mukherjee, Dr Rohini Handa, Dr Debashish Danda, Dr R.N. Mishra, Dr Amita Agarwal, Dr Narsimullu, Dr Rajeshwari and others. The symposium also   had some International speakers namely Dr R, R Singh, Dr Joel Bloc, Dr Ali Mobasheri, Dr Beny Antony and Dr Changhai Ding and Dr Meenakshi Jolly.


    The symposium covered all the major topics of Rheumatology in the 3 days scientific program. Along with this, the research work done in the Department of Rheumatology under the mentorship of Prof Siddharth Das in the field of Rheumatoid Arthritis, Osteoarthritis and Fibromyalgia was showcased. The second day of the symposium on the occasion of World Lupus Day, celebrated all the aspects of the disease including the Obstetric aspect were discussed. Dr Vineeta Das and Dr Amita Pandey from the Obstetric and Gynecology Department of KGMU also presented their views on the occasion. The Highlights of the symposium were two games namely “Clash of Titans” and “Game of thrones”. In the clash of Titans there were 4 teams with their team leaders   namely: West Zone- Dr V.R Joshi, North zone- Dr A. N Malaviya, East Zone- Dr Sukumar Mukherjee and South zone - Dr A.N. Chandrasekara. Each team presented a difficult case to the other team and based on the discussion and final diagnosis Dr V.R Joshi’s team was declared as winner. In the game of thrones, 4 Lords presented their views as to which disease is the most important in the field of Rheumatology. Dr Rohini Handa spoke on Rheumatoid arthritis, Dr S Shanker on SLE, Dr P.D Rath on Osteoarthritis and Dr B.G Dharmanand on Fibromyalgia. Dr S Shanker was declared as the King of Rheumatology by the audience and the judges.


     During the inauguration ceremony, Dr Siddharth Das was felicitated. Dr A. N. Malaviya in his address during the inauguration described Dr Siddharth Das as a person who specialized in thinking “Out of the box”. Dr Siddharth Das was also felicitated by his students who had come from all across the country to attend the symposium. Overall the symposium turned out to be success because of the interesting Scientific Program and was well attended by number of doctors from all over India.